Governance and Administration

In this section:

Governor of West Virginia

  • Jim Justice, Governor

Back to Top

West Virginia University Board of Governors

  • William D. Wilmoth, Chair, Wheeling
  • David B. Alvarez, Vice Chair, Bridgeport
  • Taunja Willis Miller, Secretary, Morgantown
  • Timothy Bailey, Hurricane
  • Elmer Coppoolse, Lewisburg
  • Thomas V. Flaherty, Charleston
  • Thomas A. Heywood, Charleston
  • Dr. Stanley Hileman, Faculty Representative, Morgantown
  • Blake Humphrey, Student Representative, Wheeling
  • J. Thomas Jones, Morgantown
  • Dixie Martinelli, Classified Staff Representative, Morgantown
  • Edward L. Robinson, Charleston 
  • J. Robert "JR" Rogers, Hurricane
  • Benjamin M. Statler, Pittsburgh
  • Dr. Matthew C. Valenti, Faculty Representative, Morgantown
  • Kimberly Weaver, Baltimore, MD

The West Virginia University Board of Governors (the "Board") was created by the West Virginia Legislature as the governing body of the West Virginia University system, including West Virginia University, West Virginia University Potomac State College, and West Virginia University Institute of Technology (collectively the "University"). The Board has the mission of general supervision and control over the academic and business affairs of the University.

West Virginia University is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Institution. The University does not discriminate on the basis of race, sex, age, disability, protected veteran status, religion, sexual orientation, color, national origin, or other class protected by the University's non-discrimination policy (BOG Policy 44) in the administration of any of its educational programs or activities or with respect to admission or employment. Further, faculty, staff, students, and applicants are protected from retaliation for filing complaints or assisting in an investigation under the University’s Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Plan. Inquiries regarding the University’s non-discrimination policy may be sent to the Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion.

Back to Top

West Virginia University Administration

  • E. Gordon Gee, President
  • Joyce McConnell, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs 

Back to Top


  • Benjamin M. Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources, Eugene V. Cilento
  • College of Business and Economics, Javier Reyes
  • College of Creative Arts, H. Keith Jackson (Interim)
  • College of Education and Human Services, Gypsy Denzine
  • College of Law, Gregory W. Bowman
  • College of Physical Activity and Sport Sciences, Dana D. Brooks
  • Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources, and Design, Daniel J. Robison 
  • Dean of Students, G. Corey Farris
  • Eberly College of Arts and Sciences, Gregory Dunaway
  • Honors College, Kenneth P. Blemings
  • Reed College of Media, Maryanne Reed
  • School of Dentistry, Thomas Borgia
  • School of Medicine, Clay Marsh
  • School of Nursing, Tara Hulsey
  • School of Pharmacy, William P. Petros
  • School of Public Health, Jeffrey Coben
  • University Libraries, Karen Diaz (Interim)

Back to Top