General Information - West Virginia University

West Virginia University (WVU) was founded in 1867 as a result of the 1862 Land-Grant Act, otherwise known as the Morrill Act. As the state’s flagship, land-grant university, WVU’s mission reflects its dedication to serving the state and citizens of West Virginia through access to higher education, research and scholarship, and comprehensive health sciences. The WVU System, which includes the flagship campus in Morgantown, WVU Institute of Technology in Beckley, and WVU Potomac State in Keyser enrolls approximately 32,000 students, who represent all 55 counties of West Virginia, 50 states and the District of Columbia, and over 100 other countries. West Virginia University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Many WVU programs hold specialized accreditation.

WVU Morgantown provides programs of instruction through 14 colleges and schools and offers over 190 degree programs at the baccalaureate, master’s, doctoral, and professional levels, as well as numerous certificate programs. WVU Morgantown facilities are built on more than 1,000 acres and include several buildings on the National Register of Historic Places.

The West Virginia University Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Center has five schools serving undergraduate, graduate, and professional students at three locations in Morgantown, Charleston, and Martinsburg.

WVU Potomac State College, situated in West Virginia’s Eastern Panhandle in Keyser, offers associate and baccalaureate degree programs and serves both residential and commuting students. WVU Institute of Technology is located in Beckley, and serves the region and the state by offering technology-intensive baccalaureate degree programs.

The WVU Extension Service has offices in all of West Virginia’s 55 counties, staffed by county agents. WVU operates experimental farms and forests throughout the state, as well as WVU Jackson's Mill, near Weston, WV, home of West Virginia 4-H camping and the West Virginia Fire Academy.

Visit About WVU for updated WVU facts and achievements.