This is an archived copy of the 2012-13 Catalog. To access the most recent version of the catalog, please visit

Health Sciences Catalog ~ 2012-2014

The West Virginia University Schools of Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, and Pharmacy at the Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Center offer a comprehensive range of undergraduate, graduate, and professional degree programs in health care and biosciences.

The center’s 29 degree programs provide West Virginia with accomplished professionals trained to meet the state’s diverse health care needs. More than 10,000 WVU Health Sciences Center alumni comprise the majority of the state’s physicians, dentists, and pharmacists, and many of its nurses, medical and dental technologists, and physical therapists.

A unique combination of state and federal support, income from patient care, charitable contributions from individuals and foundations, and investments by private corporations has enabled West Virginia University to build a superb environment for health education, research, and patient care.

Health Sciences Center research encompasses interdisciplinary and mission-based centers and institutes. These research hubs are led by world-renowned researchers who also serve as faculty members and mentors.

The Health Sciences Center has placed special emphasis on areas of multidisciplinary research.

The West Virginia University Health Sciences includes campuses in Morgantown, Charleston, and the Eastern Panhandle. These locations offer students the opportunity to learn their profession in a setting that realistically reflects the conditions they will encounter after graduation. A recent $150 million expansion effort has changed the face of the Morgantown Health Sciences Campus and created some of the country’s most up-to-date facilities for education and research.

The Mission of West Virginia University

Founded in 1867, West Virginia University is the land-grant, doctoral degree-granting research university in the state of West Virginia. As such, the institution occupies a unique position within the state.

West Virginia University’s primary mission is to provide high-quality programs of instruction at the undergraduate, graduate, and professional levels; to stimulate and foster both basic and applied research and scholarship; to engage in and encourage other creative and artistic work; and to bring the resources of the University to all segments of society through continuing education, extension, and public service activities.

Opportunities to conduct pioneering research and scholarship help attract high quality faculty and students. Students and faculty work together to create exciting and productive paths for investigation and development. WVU nurtures these symbiotic interactions to build intellectual, social, and economic development for all of West Virginia.

WVU’s special responsibility is to seek out, challenge, educate, and help create opportunities for those West Virginia citizens who can benefit from its programs, especially those who have demonstrated high achievement or who possess excellent potential.

West Virginia University recognizes that diversity enriches the institution and the society it serves. The University is committed to social justice and to practicing the principles of equality of opportunity and affirmative action.

Government and Organization of WVU

Effective July 1, 2001, the West Virginia Board of Governors was vested by law with the authority for the control and management of the University. The board includes 13 lay members, two faculty members, one staff member, and one student member. The University president, appointed by the Board of Governors, is the chief executive officer of the University.

The West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission is responsible for policy development and other statewide issues. The Commission consists of seven members appointed by the governor, the secretary of education and the arts, and the state superintendent of schools.

The Faculty Senate is the vehicle for faculty participation in the governance of the University. It is a legislative body with original jurisdiction over all matters of academic interest and educational policy that concern the entire University or affect more than one college or school. The senate’s decisions are subject to review and approval by the president and the Board of Governors. Senators are elected by members of the University faculty to represent their colleges and other constituencies. The senate is presided over by an elected chair.

The University Graduate Council is the representative body governing graduate education. The Council consists of elected faculty representatives from the schools and colleges offering graduate programs. This body formulates, reviews, and recommends University-wide graduate education policies and includes oversight of graduate programs both on and off campus.

The president meets regularly with the University’s administrative cabinet and monthly with the Faculty Senate Executive Committee, the Staff Council, and Student Administration. The University Faculty Assembly includes the president as presiding officer, professors, associate professors, assistant professors, instructors holding appointments on a full-time basis, and other persons engaged in full-time professional activities. The assembly meets once a year.

West Virginia University has a tradition of strong student administration, which represents student opinion to the administration and faculty. Student administration has three main units: the executive branch, the board of governors, and the judicial board. Students also serve on University-wide committees and on the Mountainlair Advisory Council.

The Staff Council is an advisory council to the president of the University and a means for all classified employees to express their opinions about job conditions, fringe benefits, employee relations, or other areas that affect their jobs.

Local 814 of the Laborers’ International Union of North America, AFL-CIO, represents employees throughout the University and its affiliates. These employees are in craft/maintenance, service, clerical, and technical job categories, with a wide variety of job classifications. Laborer’s Local 814 is the only recognized union at the University by agreement through the Memorandum of Accord.