This is an archived copy of the 2012-13 Catalog. To access the most recent version of the catalog, please visit http://catalog.wvu.edu.

West Virginia University Calendar

Fall 2012

Pre-Defined Table
Date Activity
Thursday, August 16 New Student Orientation
Friday, August 17 General Registration
Monday, August 20 On Campus First Day of Classes
Monday, August 20 Late Registration Fee in Effect for All Students
Friday, August 24 Last day to Register. Add New Courses, Make Section Changes, Change Pass/Fail and Audit
Monday, September 3 Labor Day Recess: University Closed
Monday, September 17 Rosh Hashanah (Day of Special Concern)
Monday, September 26 Yom Kippur (Day of Special Concern)
Friday, October 5 Mid-Semester
Thursday, October 11 at noon Mid-Semester Reports Due
Friday, October 26 Last Day to Drop a Class
Friday, October 26 Eid-al-Adha (Day of Special Concern)
Tuesday, November 6 Election Day
Monday, November 12 Birth of Baha'u'llah (Day of Special Concern)
Monday, November 12 Veterans’ Day (Day of Special Concern)
Saturday, November 17 thru Sunday, November 25 Thanksgiving Recess
Thursday, December 6 Last Day to Withdraw from the University
Friday, December 7 Last day of Classes
Sunday, December 9 December Convocation
Monday, December 10 thru Saturday, December 15 Final Examination Week
Sunday, December 16 Winter Break Begins
Tuesday, December 25 Christmas Day Observed
Friday, December 28 Degree Conferring Date
Friday, January 4 Dean’s reports on Graduates Due in Office of University Registrar

Spring 2013

Pre-Defined Table
Date Activity
Tuesday, January 1 New Year's Day
Thursday, January 10 New Student Orientation
Friday, January 11 General Registration
Monday, January 14 On Campus First day of Classes
Monday, January14 Late Registration Fee in Effect for All Students
Friday, January 18 Last day to Register, Add New Courses, Make Section Changes, Change Pass/Fail and Audit
Monday, January 21 Martin Luther King’s Birthday Recess: University Closed
Friday, March 1 Mid-Semester
Thursday, March 21 Naw-Ruz (Special Day of Concern)
Thursday, March 21 at noon Mid-Semester Reports Due
Friday, March 22 Last Day to Drop a Class
Saturday, March 23 thru Sunday, March 31 Spring Recess
Friday, March 29 Friday Before Easter Recess: University Closed
Thursday, May 2 Last Day to Withdraw from the University
Friday, May 3 Last day of Classes
Monday, May 6 thru Saturday, May 11 Final Examination Week
Wednesday, May 15 Dean’s Reports on Graduates Due in Office of University Registrar
Saturday, May 18 Alumni Day
Saturday, May 19 Commencement
Sunday, May 13 Commencement

12-Week Summer Session 2013

Pre-Defined Table
Date Activity
Monday, May 20 Registration
Monday, May 20 On-Campus First Day of Classes
Monday, May 27 Memorial Day Recess: University Closed
Friday, June 28 Final Exam for First Six-Week Session
Thursday, July 4 Independence Day Recess: University Closed
Friday, August 9 Final Exam for Second Six-Week Session and 12-Week Session
Friday, August 16 Degree Conferring Date (No Ceremonies)

  • Late registration fee in effect on the second day of class for all classes.